Dreadmills aka Treadmills – Great Resource

Love them or hate them (dreadmills). Essential to surviving your winters in some semblance of fitness in the north; and ditto to surviving summers in the scorching summers in the southwest. Treadmills.

I did a 10 mile run on a treadmill once. That was more than enough for me. Did you know there is a treadmill marathon record (2:21:40)?  Or you could run fast on a treadmill (4:00 mile)?

You can read all you want about if treadmill running does or does not mimic running on the roads. You can apply the common 1% grade to runs to “make up for” road effects (A trainer in the article quotes 2% – but this is redundant of the original recommendation of 1%. Certainly change it up for biggest benefits.). In the end, if you are looking to maintain your conditioning at times when it is not convenient to run outside (too hot, dark, cold, rainy, snowy, dangerous, etc.) then a treadmill is an essential tool.

As you can read in this one-stop shopping website review, the array of treadmills and options and bells and whistles can be daunting. It’s nice if you can use your local gym treadmill. The convenience of owning one however may be just the ticket to consistency in your training. (And it removes one more excuse/barrier to getting your workout done… driving to the gym.)

The bottom-line on a treadmill is to get what you will use. Regardless of virtual reality runs and other bells and whistles, if you don’t use it then it doesn’t matter. Save your money.

I think they did a nice job of sifting through all the treadmills and explaining their criteria. Take a look before you buy your next treadmill!

Need a treadmill training program? Drop me a line. I can design an entire program to get you from that starting line to the finish line – training just on a treadmill.

About Dean Hebert

I’m a mental game coach, author and speaker. I work with individual athletes, parents, coaches, and teams on sports performance enhancement. Beyond my academic post-graduate work in sports psychology - the psychology behind athlete performance – I am a certified Mental Games Coaching Professional (MGCP) and certified hypnotherapist. I’ve authored several books and hundreds of articles. “Coach, I didn’t run because…” (2008) is a seriously light-hearted look at making excuses not to workout and how to overcome them. “Focus for Fitness” (2009) and “Screw the Goals Give me the Donut” (2010) are two of my eBooks on mental game approaches for the everyday athlete. I wrote these because I believe that everyone can benefit from the powerful mental techniques that the world’s best athletes use. I have been cited in Runners World, Best Health magazine (CN), SWEAT Magazine, and the Washington Examiner amongst many other publications. I have been a featured mental games coach in Runner’s World and for the internationally acclaimed trail running resource - trailrunningclub.com. I also regularly appear on sports and fitness talk shows such as LTKFitness, Runnersroundtable and for more than three years I have co-hosted a weekly video series with Coach Joe English for Running-Advice.com. I specialize in mental toughness training. My clients include tennis, synchronized swimming, golf, race-kart, soccer, motocross, volleyball, MMA, cycling (road, off-road, time-trialist), running, duathlon and triathlon, basketball, football and baseball athletes. I have coached world-class athletes and athletes internationally. I have a passion for working with youth athletes and helping them apply mental game skills and techniques to all areas of life. Most importantly, my aim is to have people enjoy sports and life to their fullest through peak performances.
This entry was posted in Excuses not to run, Mental Toughness, Motivation, Running, Treadmill and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

