Keep Race Results in Perspective

It’s important to be passionate about what you do. Wanting and striving to be the best we can be; breaking PRs – running further faster – beating opponents – winning medals – gathering t-shirts. But keeping race performances in perspective aids in moderating dramatic swings in our moods and reactions post-race. But I’ll get back to this in a moment.

I was helping comb through belongings of an elderly couple who had recently been moved to an assisted living facility. Her last visit to the house was emotional as you can imagine. His dementia had progressed long beyond caring about these things. Here was my ah-ha moment: It is sad when you realize everything you have is reduced to something to donate, give-away or throw away and that only a few things remain of value to those who will be left behind.

I found myself envisioning me in their place. And the realization that trophies, medals, shirts, running logs and race shirt quilts have meaning to me alone. There is little value to anyone else in my life after I move on. For now a good race becomes a fond memory and perhaps motivating story to tell my family. A bad race is either a blip in time or a preposterous tale (in my case these stories become more apocryphal each time I retell it). So for now, my stuff provides me a comfort, a source of satisfaction and entertainment.

But the day will come when no one will remember a race or place I had. The only thing left, as if part of a trivia question, somewhere online my name will show up in race results. And no one will know the story behind the name and numbers.

Now back to keeping races and results in perspective. In the end a race is just a race. Be passionate. Go for it with all the gusto you can. But remember that the result does not define you. It is just one more event in your life. Keep it in perspective.

  • Is it really worth getting so worked up before a race you can barely function?
  • Is your stress and emotional reactions really worth making everyone around you on edge because of your race preparation and mindset?
  • Is it really worth it that you dwell on a bad day, poorly marked course or that someone beat you?

On the other hand:

  • How do you go out and give your very best for today?
  • How would you like to be remembered from this race?
  • What story will you get to retell about today’s race?
  • In what fond ways could you look back on this race?
  • How would you like to view your weeks or months of preparation and training for that race?

For awhile you’ll have memories, stories and remnants of days gone by. But, some day no one will care what place or time you had; and you won’t remember. I don’t say this to be a “downer”. In fact quite the opposite. I say this with sincerity in hopes that perhaps, just perhaps, it helps one person cope better with their running and racing performances.

 

About Dean Hebert

I’m a mental game coach, author and speaker. I work with individual athletes, parents, coaches, and teams on sports performance enhancement. Beyond my academic post-graduate work in sports psychology - the psychology behind athlete performance – I am a certified Mental Games Coaching Professional (MGCP) and certified hypnotherapist. I’ve authored several books and hundreds of articles. “Coach, I didn’t run because…” (2008) is a seriously light-hearted look at making excuses not to workout and how to overcome them. “Focus for Fitness” (2009) and “Screw the Goals Give me the Donut” (2010) are two of my eBooks on mental game approaches for the everyday athlete. I wrote these because I believe that everyone can benefit from the powerful mental techniques that the world’s best athletes use. I have been cited in Runners World, Best Health magazine (CN), SWEAT Magazine, and the Washington Examiner amongst many other publications. I have been a featured mental games coach in Runner’s World and for the internationally acclaimed trail running resource - trailrunningclub.com. I also regularly appear on sports and fitness talk shows such as LTKFitness, Runnersroundtable and for more than three years I have co-hosted a weekly video series with Coach Joe English for Running-Advice.com. I specialize in mental toughness training. My clients include tennis, synchronized swimming, golf, race-kart, soccer, motocross, volleyball, MMA, cycling (road, off-road, time-trialist), running, duathlon and triathlon, basketball, football and baseball athletes. I have coached world-class athletes and athletes internationally. I have a passion for working with youth athletes and helping them apply mental game skills and techniques to all areas of life. Most importantly, my aim is to have people enjoy sports and life to their fullest through peak performances.
This entry was posted in Goal Setting, Mental Game, Mental Toughness, Motivation, Running, Running Records, Sports Psychology, The Running Life - Philosophy, Training Effectiveness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Keep Race Results in Perspective

  1. mizunogirl says:

    THis is a great post. I am not really into material things, so I kind of haphazardly hang my participation medals up and kind of look at them once in a while, use my tech shirts til they are totally trashed, and really do not do any of the crazy things that I see people do with race trinkets. Oddly, I also do not get too worked up about races that I feel I am adequately prepared for.

    Had to miss a race this weekend due to a total “medication Misadventure” causing some small Rhabdo… It was kind of difficult, but after a big old pity party, for about an hour, I circled the wagons up and moved on. Life, and running is full of unexpected twists and turns. All we can do is navigate and not get to wound up!

Leave a Reply

