This Just In – Product Reviews

You will not see many product reviews by me. Why?

  • Because most products do not do what they advertise. They do not do it as well, as reliably or as consistently as manufacturers and promoters say.
  • Because data provided about the efficacy of product  comes from their own studies and not independent well controlled research. So, of course their study says their product out-performs others. Duh! This is especially true of energy drinks, bars, gooey things etc. It is also true of medical treatment modalities (if your tool is a hammer everything looks like a nail).
  • Because the placebo effect is far stronger than anyone believes. If a big name says it’s so, then it must be so! “It has to work if Lance or Tiger or Barry say so!” Belief in a product – regardless of the reason – creates a mindset that is blind to objectivity.
  • Because what works for one person very often does not for another person. It’s an opinion and no more. The variations in our personal preferences are too wide to have any product help everyone.
  • Because it often reflects a trend or fad (i.e. barefootie-type shoes). I’ve never been one to jump on those boats early.
  • Because some items are about fashion and keeping up the the Joneses. I won’t give an example in light of that I will offend someone out there. Though sometimes it is nice to look attractive while sweating your ass off in 110F degrees in the desert.
  • And finally, because most people writing reviews have something at stake. That is, they get freebies, kick-backs, royalties or whatever by saying how great the product is and promoting the product. Like when Brooks wanted to sponsor me and required me only to wear, talk about, promote and get people to only wear Brooks. For the handsome reward of the equivalent of 2 pairs of running shoes and a few minor freebies. What a deal!

And with that I’m going to give you a product review! It is nice when you come across something and on a whim you try it – and it works. I’m a skeptic by nature when it comes to products (very unlikely that Placebo effects are at work) I think mostly because I have been so disappointed overt so many years of trying things. Unless I try it and it really works, it is just hearsay.

I was in Sole Sports (yup a plug and yup something in it for me – so there – full disclosure) getting my new running shoes and as always, I walk out with a handful of other items. One such item is the Halo Headband.

I don’t care for hats when I run (personal opinion). I like my head to breathe (personal preference). I hate sweat running into my eyes – especially with sunblock of some kind – yikes! (And those manufacturers of sun blocks who say theirs don’t run – lie.)

The Halo Sweatband has a small yellow ridge across the forehead region of the band on the inside surface. This is what caught my attention. They advertise that it wicks moisture away from the front so that it doesn’t drip in your face once the band gets saturated. This is a common problem with sweat bands. So intrigued was I that I bought one (I think it was $12.95). Lo and behold after my first run – I realized it works. It works! The headband was soaked but not dripping in my eyes! How cool is that? (Single testimonial – not scientific.)

Halo

Halo Sweatbands

There is another point I want to make here. I wear sunglasses when I run and so I don’t necessarily need, want or like a visor too. Now for those who like caps, visors or the like and like to have that lid over their eyes – this product is not for you. (See not all products work for all people.) Though I haven’t tried them, I think you would be well off trying Halo’s hat and visor line with the same technology. (No basis whatsoever to plug.)

For the fashionably conscious the Halo Headbands come in teal, purple, pink and more colors. (So you can look attractive sweating in 110F degrees.)

Now, if only Halo would pick up on this blog and send me a free sample – I really want one of their Halo Solar Bandanas – looks perfect for desert trail running.

About Dean Hebert

I’m a mental game coach, author and speaker. I work with individual athletes, parents, coaches, and teams on sports performance enhancement. Beyond my academic post-graduate work in sports psychology - the psychology behind athlete performance – I am a certified Mental Games Coaching Professional (MGCP) and certified hypnotherapist. I’ve authored several books and hundreds of articles. “Coach, I didn’t run because…” (2008) is a seriously light-hearted look at making excuses not to workout and how to overcome them. “Focus for Fitness” (2009) and “Screw the Goals Give me the Donut” (2010) are two of my eBooks on mental game approaches for the everyday athlete. I wrote these because I believe that everyone can benefit from the powerful mental techniques that the world’s best athletes use. I have been cited in Runners World, Best Health magazine (CN), SWEAT Magazine, and the Washington Examiner amongst many other publications. I have been a featured mental games coach in Runner’s World and for the internationally acclaimed trail running resource - trailrunningclub.com. I also regularly appear on sports and fitness talk shows such as LTKFitness, Runnersroundtable and for more than three years I have co-hosted a weekly video series with Coach Joe English for Running-Advice.com. I specialize in mental toughness training. My clients include tennis, synchronized swimming, golf, race-kart, soccer, motocross, volleyball, MMA, cycling (road, off-road, time-trialist), running, duathlon and triathlon, basketball, football and baseball athletes. I have coached world-class athletes and athletes internationally. I have a passion for working with youth athletes and helping them apply mental game skills and techniques to all areas of life. Most importantly, my aim is to have people enjoy sports and life to their fullest through peak performances.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This Just In – Product Reviews

  1. Mike Kichler says:

    Oh cool (pun intended), if it’s good enough for Dean then I’m heading to Sole Sports (my favorite running store) to buy a Halo sweatband today. Mainly because my wife is always telling me to trim my eyebrow hair because it runs wild, but then sweat is always burning my eyes. This sounds like the perfect solution for bike/run sweat in the eyes prevention! Thanks Dean. 😉

  2. Dean Hebert says:

    And get this everyone – Halo DID pick up on this blog post and send me the Solar Head Band and it rocks too! Thank you Paul & Co.

Leave a Reply

