Outside Magazine’s Health & Fitness Report 2012

I just read one of the best articles in a popular magazine I have seen in literally years! Outside magazine’s Gretchen Reynolds gets kudos from me on this one. Her accurate information on current research on fitness are spot on. I’ll summarize her 10 myths that are detailed in the article.

Myth – Stretching prevents injuries.
Truth – Static stretching should be avoided in endurance events. It weakens muscles.

Myth – Barefoot running is better for the body.
Truth – It depends on lots of things and is absolutely contraindicated in some cases.

Myth – You need to focus on your core to be a better athlete.
Truth – Your specific sport provides the optimal core work.

Myth – Guzzling water and electrolytes prevents cramps. (This is a really good one!)
Truth – Those things have little to do with seizing up!

Myth – Ibuprofen before you run or race prevents muscle soreness.
Truth – This does more harm than good.

Myth – Dehydration hurts race performance. (This is a great one that is little known!)
Truth – Over-hydrating  is more likely to hurt your performance.

Myth – Ice baths speed recovery.
Truth – Nothing supports this.

Myth – Long and slow is the best way to burn calories. (Oh ya, and you get in shape faster – faster!)
Truth – Higher intensity burns more calories during the workout AND up to 14 hours afterwards!

Myth – Fructose (a simple sugar) is a performance killer.
Truth – Fructose can be a performance supercharger.

Myth – Supplements take performance to the next level.
Truth –  There are no magic pills. (Nice outline of various popular supplements.)

Gretchen does a nice job of infusing these topics by quoting various studies.  I didn’t want to plagiarize her work so go pick up a copy and read the details on each myth. It would be worth the price of the magazine just for this article. I intend keeping a copy of this article close by for my own reference. These are things I have written about for years. I have had debates with coaches and athletes alike on many of these topics. It’s always nice to have informed minds writing to dispel training myths.  So, whether you read what I write about here or not… at least there is one other person who reads something other than popular magazines and wants to share the most accurate information possible- as we know it today – from a less biased research-based perspective .

Thanks to Rob for bringing this to my attention!

About Dean Hebert

I’m a mental game coach, author and speaker. I work with individual athletes, parents, coaches, and teams on sports performance enhancement. Beyond my academic post-graduate work in sports psychology - the psychology behind athlete performance – I am a certified Mental Games Coaching Professional (MGCP) and certified hypnotherapist. I’ve authored several books and hundreds of articles. “Coach, I didn’t run because…” (2008) is a seriously light-hearted look at making excuses not to workout and how to overcome them. “Focus for Fitness” (2009) and “Screw the Goals Give me the Donut” (2010) are two of my eBooks on mental game approaches for the everyday athlete. I wrote these because I believe that everyone can benefit from the powerful mental techniques that the world’s best athletes use. I have been cited in Runners World, Best Health magazine (CN), SWEAT Magazine, and the Washington Examiner amongst many other publications. I have been a featured mental games coach in Runner’s World and for the internationally acclaimed trail running resource - trailrunningclub.com. I also regularly appear on sports and fitness talk shows such as LTKFitness, Runnersroundtable and for more than three years I have co-hosted a weekly video series with Coach Joe English for Running-Advice.com. I specialize in mental toughness training. My clients include tennis, synchronized swimming, golf, race-kart, soccer, motocross, volleyball, MMA, cycling (road, off-road, time-trialist), running, duathlon and triathlon, basketball, football and baseball athletes. I have coached world-class athletes and athletes internationally. I have a passion for working with youth athletes and helping them apply mental game skills and techniques to all areas of life. Most importantly, my aim is to have people enjoy sports and life to their fullest through peak performances.
This entry was posted in Training Effectiveness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Outside Magazine’s Health & Fitness Report 2012

  1. tenchijin2 says:

    I consider myself something of a mythbuster, too. I am always surprised in any endeavor how many myths are pervasive and widely-accepted. Super-hydrating is one of my favorites, and also the concept of lactic acid buildup and “cleaning out” the muscles by recovery runs.

  2. Greg says:

    Dean, great post. Thanks. Despite the advancement of science, somehow these myth, once ingrained, seem to stick around with people. However, one should read the full story, as it is not always as simple as these one sentence statements might suggest.

    For those who reside outside the US/Candada (like me) here is the link to the online version of Outside’s story http://www.outsideonline.com/fitness/Health-Fitness-Report-2012.html

    Greg

Leave a Reply

