Lyme Disease – An Update and Hope

Lyme Update October 12,2011 – This is an update from my brother Jim who has gone through Lyme disease and is back running again. Due to the popularity of the original post and the ongoing contributions, he decided to offer this ray of hope to all those who are going through this.

I first wrote a blog entry for my brother’s blog back in August of 2008. I had been diagnosed with Lyme disease, and was in a pretty bad place physically and mentally.

Writing a tale of my issues at the time was helpful in my recovery, and as it turned out connected me with many other similar people who were going through the same problems. It’s been quite awhile since I posted an update on where I am today. The reason I am doing an update, is that the old blog I wrote still gets comments and messages month after month, and I still keep in contact with many of the people I first chatted with. This is a continuation of my story and a message to all those who have endured or are enduring this horrible disease.

A brief review is in order first. I first got sick July 10 2008 (yes…I remember the date exactly). Things went from bad to worse, and the journey took me through many doctors and misdiagnoses. There was pain, anguish and confusion. Weeks later I was finally diagnosed with Lyme, and Erlychia and Babesia. I was a mess. So, I took the meds, did all the right things, and did quite a few things I wasn’t supposed to. Over the months I started exercising, painfully, but I began the process of recovery.

About 18 months from when I first felt bad, I finally felt like I was back to normal. In between that time I alternated between feeling bad and feeling good. It went back and forth without specific patterns necessarily.

This brings us to October 2011 and where I am today. I averaged 35 miles a week for the entire year last year 2010, with only a couple hiccups do to typical running injuries. This year I am averaging about 40 miles per week, my average pace has increased, my longer runs are better, and in general I am actually running better than before I got sick.
I believe the reason for that is simple, I am training better and harder, and perhaps the sickness is what spurred me on to work a little harder. I don’t take my health for granted.

Now, I can’t deny I still get an ache or pain that makes me think…”oh oh, Lyme?”
Once you have gone through Lyme, I think that’s a natural reaction. I know it’s not rational, but I still think about it. I still get an odd feeling when I go into my yard to do gardening because that is where the likely tick bite occurred. When I go out there, even in hot weather, I basically dress in Hazmat clothes….hat, boots, long pants, gloves, you name it I am wearing it. About 6 months ago I was showering and found a tick at the bottom of the shower. The ensuing scream that was heard was not masculine in any way. I wasn’t bitten…but just the sight of the tick was enough to more than freak me out.

So, what conclusions can be drawn from all this? I don’t really know if any can, Every Lyme case and every individual seem to be quite unique. But I believe there is always hope.

Remain positive and keep hopeful. Stay positive even when things don’t seem to be anything but negative. And lastly, you aren’t alone…

About Dean Hebert

I’m a mental game coach, author and speaker. I work with individual athletes, parents, coaches, and teams on sports performance enhancement. Beyond my academic post-graduate work in sports psychology - the psychology behind athlete performance – I am a certified Mental Games Coaching Professional (MGCP) and certified hypnotherapist. I’ve authored several books and hundreds of articles. “Coach, I didn’t run because…” (2008) is a seriously light-hearted look at making excuses not to workout and how to overcome them. “Focus for Fitness” (2009) and “Screw the Goals Give me the Donut” (2010) are two of my eBooks on mental game approaches for the everyday athlete. I wrote these because I believe that everyone can benefit from the powerful mental techniques that the world’s best athletes use. I have been cited in Runners World, Best Health magazine (CN), SWEAT Magazine, and the Washington Examiner amongst many other publications. I have been a featured mental games coach in Runner’s World and for the internationally acclaimed trail running resource - trailrunningclub.com. I also regularly appear on sports and fitness talk shows such as LTKFitness, Runnersroundtable and for more than three years I have co-hosted a weekly video series with Coach Joe English for Running-Advice.com. I specialize in mental toughness training. My clients include tennis, synchronized swimming, golf, race-kart, soccer, motocross, volleyball, MMA, cycling (road, off-road, time-trialist), running, duathlon and triathlon, basketball, football and baseball athletes. I have coached world-class athletes and athletes internationally. I have a passion for working with youth athletes and helping them apply mental game skills and techniques to all areas of life. Most importantly, my aim is to have people enjoy sports and life to their fullest through peak performances.
This entry was posted in Lyme Disease and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lyme Disease – An Update and Hope

  1. Tina says:

    Thanks for the HOPE it’s what I need right now!

Leave a Reply

