Music & Running

Ok, this is something completely different than you normally get from me. But, it’s not that farfetched. How many of you run with your tunes? Do you have favorites for warming up, cooling down, long runs, hard runs? I do not and never have listened to music during runs. I also know so many of you do. So, I received the email that follows and visited the site. It’s for real. And it has some cool features. For those who would like to get their voice heard or would like a new global perspective on using music in sports check it out. (I like the Running Song Finder).

Dear Dean,
My name is Mareike and I am part of the 5 FOR SPORTS–Team. We have started a campaign at http://www.5-for-sports.com with which we are addressing sports and music enthusiast worldwide.

We would like to know what kind of music and which songs motivate your readers when they are running. With their input we are trying to create the basis for a statistic analysis of the topic running and music and thus develop the ultimate “Running Song Charts“:

– For 5 months sports fans all around the world can state their 5 favorite training- songs on the website http://www.5-for-sports.com. In cooperation with adidas Sennheiser raffles 250 prizes such as iPods, iTunes-vouchers or sports headphones and a voucher for sports equipment worth 5.555 Euro among all participants as a reward for their participation.

– Many renowned faces from the sports and music world are supporting this campaign. US-Sprinter Tyson Gay, the British heptathlete Jessica Ennis, the Chinese singer Hins Cheung are among the stars that disclose their „top 5“ songs for warming up, running and cool-down. The playlists of the NBA-players Derrick Rose and Nick Batum are already online. And there are more to come.

– The more people contribute their training songs to 5 FOR SPORTS the more extensive the analysis is going to be. Sennheiser and adidas will share the results – for example differing musical preferences of men and women, or differing musical tastes in Europe, Asia and America – with all participants.

We are excited about this campaign and would be delighted about a report on the
„running song charts“ on your blog.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Your 5 FOR SPORTS-Team
Mareike

Find more information at: http://www.5-for-sports.com
Press release: http://www.sennheiser.com/sennheiser/home_de.nsf/root/press_releases

Sennheiser electronic GmbH & Co.KG
Press and Public Relations
Headphones, Assistive Listening and Aviation Headsets

Phone: +49 5130 600- 719
E-mail: mareike.oer@sennheiser.com
http://www.sennheiser.com

About Dean Hebert

I’m a mental game coach, author and speaker. I work with individual athletes, parents, coaches, and teams on sports performance enhancement. Beyond my academic post-graduate work in sports psychology - the psychology behind athlete performance – I am a certified Mental Games Coaching Professional (MGCP) and certified hypnotherapist. I’ve authored several books and hundreds of articles. “Coach, I didn’t run because…” (2008) is a seriously light-hearted look at making excuses not to workout and how to overcome them. “Focus for Fitness” (2009) and “Screw the Goals Give me the Donut” (2010) are two of my eBooks on mental game approaches for the everyday athlete. I wrote these because I believe that everyone can benefit from the powerful mental techniques that the world’s best athletes use. I have been cited in Runners World, Best Health magazine (CN), SWEAT Magazine, and the Washington Examiner amongst many other publications. I have been a featured mental games coach in Runner’s World and for the internationally acclaimed trail running resource - trailrunningclub.com. I also regularly appear on sports and fitness talk shows such as LTKFitness, Runnersroundtable and for more than three years I have co-hosted a weekly video series with Coach Joe English for Running-Advice.com. I specialize in mental toughness training. My clients include tennis, synchronized swimming, golf, race-kart, soccer, motocross, volleyball, MMA, cycling (road, off-road, time-trialist), running, duathlon and triathlon, basketball, football and baseball athletes. I have coached world-class athletes and athletes internationally. I have a passion for working with youth athletes and helping them apply mental game skills and techniques to all areas of life. Most importantly, my aim is to have people enjoy sports and life to their fullest through peak performances.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

