Update & Your Assistance Requested

Greetings to All!
I apologize for being away from blogging recently. I am working on some really exciting projects. In fact you can even assist me in their development.

Drop me a line with your ideas on the following topic.

If you were to have a virtual personal coach with you before, during or after workouts and races:
What would you like to ask your coach?
What would help you perform at your best?
What do you see as value added in having a personal coach?
What kind of advice do you want or need?
What kind of advice is most helpful?
What are some of the things you look to a coach for?
What performance issues would you like to have “cues” for (i.e. finish each rep all the way through the line; finish hard; run strong on hills)?

Answer the same questions if you had your own virtual mental games coach – assisting you with mental toughness day-to-day or in races.

You can leave a post or send me an email (coach@rxrunning.com).

Thanks – stay tuned for lots more!

About Dean Hebert

I’m a mental game coach, author and speaker. I work with individual athletes, parents, coaches, and teams on sports performance enhancement. Beyond my academic post-graduate work in sports psychology - the psychology behind athlete performance – I am a certified Mental Games Coaching Professional (MGCP) and certified hypnotherapist. I’ve authored several books and hundreds of articles. “Coach, I didn’t run because…” (2008) is a seriously light-hearted look at making excuses not to workout and how to overcome them. “Focus for Fitness” (2009) and “Screw the Goals Give me the Donut” (2010) are two of my eBooks on mental game approaches for the everyday athlete. I wrote these because I believe that everyone can benefit from the powerful mental techniques that the world’s best athletes use. I have been cited in Runners World, Best Health magazine (CN), SWEAT Magazine, and the Washington Examiner amongst many other publications. I have been a featured mental games coach in Runner’s World and for the internationally acclaimed trail running resource - trailrunningclub.com. I also regularly appear on sports and fitness talk shows such as LTKFitness, Runnersroundtable and for more than three years I have co-hosted a weekly video series with Coach Joe English for Running-Advice.com. I specialize in mental toughness training. My clients include tennis, synchronized swimming, golf, race-kart, soccer, motocross, volleyball, MMA, cycling (road, off-road, time-trialist), running, duathlon and triathlon, basketball, football and baseball athletes. I have coached world-class athletes and athletes internationally. I have a passion for working with youth athletes and helping them apply mental game skills and techniques to all areas of life. Most importantly, my aim is to have people enjoy sports and life to their fullest through peak performances.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Update & Your Assistance Requested

  1. Norm says:

    There are some good running books available with excellent training schedules (Pete Pfitzinger’s “Advanced Marathoning” and Jack Daniels’ “Daniels’ Running Formula” are two that I’ve used). So, planning a good training schedule has never been a problem for me. But the two issues I find very hard to address without a coach is how hard/fast to run my workouts and when to increase my intensity. I’ve often felt that I’m not pushing myself hard enough and not seeing the results that I should, or alternatively, sometimes I push too hard too soon and wind up injured. It’s a tricky balance and having an experienced coach would probably help a lot.

  2. Dean Hebert says:

    Good point. Indeed, there is a plethora of training book and downloads. The very problem with them is exactly as you say. They only “point north” but don’t give much better direction than that. It is one reason so many runners come to coaches. I find it time and time again. If you use the formulas such as a vVO2max test there is no guessing as to what your paces should be.
    Thanks for the input.

  3. I’d suggest having people you coach whether locally or remotely use runningahead.com which provides and easy way for the runner to keep track and for you to see how thy are doing.

Leave a Reply

