“Coach, I didn’t run because…” – Duane

BestHealth Magazine – published by Reader’s Digest Magazines (Canada) interviewed me recently about excuses people make not to run or workout. Lisa Hannam’s article, “Run out of Excuses” (September 09 Issue, pp. 54-55) is a solid article on excuse making and how to overcome them. She even quotes me accurately! Woohoo!
(At least my Canadian followers can pick up a copy!)

This theme of excuse making is ubiquitous. I still find it curious that those who overcome excuses are seen by others as more “motivated” or “have something special” that gets them over the hump. Yet, they are everyday people just wanting to get things done, make a difference and not make excuses. My hat is off to all those who just get out and do it and to all those who contributed to the book.

This is an excerpt from “Coach, I didn’t run because…” a book about excuses not to get your workout done and how to overcome them.
It was almost a four year journey but I did it. I had plenty of opportunities for excuses along the way. I admit I even used them a few times. But, in the end I’m proud to say I’m a Boston marathon qualifier and finisher.

…I have lost over 40 lbs in the past couple of years and I have to say it has everything to do with what you eat – and not making excuses. I was running for five years before I lost any weight. I ran marathons, 5k’s, 10k’s, half-marathons, and really any event I could. I logged 30 to 40 miles a week and could not get down below 210 pounds I stepped on the scale one day and saw 222 pounds and I had a marathon in two weeks. I decided on the spot that I needed to do something about it…

…I used to run races and people would say things like, ‘good job big guy’ or ‘way to go big fellow’. They don’t say that anymore. The motivation to keep it off is all in the way I feel now. Having that feeling in mind keeps away excuses to stray from my healthy diet.

Sometimes I awake in the morning and I think to myself, I don’t want to get out of bed and run! I start rationalizing that I ran hard yesterday and my body needs a break…

Want to read more about how Duane and other everyday runners overcome excuses and just get it done? Get your copy of “Coach, I didn’t run because…” It’s an entertaining, motivational and practical look at excuse making and how to become an Excuse Buster – just like Duane. Pick one up for your runner friend, a copy for everyone on your team or for that special someone you know who sets New Year’s resolutions…. yet again. Every runner who attended this past summer’s running cam – Camp Elevate – received their very own copies of the book!

About Dean Hebert

I’m a mental game coach, author and speaker. I work with individual athletes, parents, coaches, and teams on sports performance enhancement. Beyond my academic post-graduate work in sports psychology - the psychology behind athlete performance – I am a certified Mental Games Coaching Professional (MGCP) and certified hypnotherapist. I’ve authored several books and hundreds of articles. “Coach, I didn’t run because…” (2008) is a seriously light-hearted look at making excuses not to workout and how to overcome them. “Focus for Fitness” (2009) and “Screw the Goals Give me the Donut” (2010) are two of my eBooks on mental game approaches for the everyday athlete. I wrote these because I believe that everyone can benefit from the powerful mental techniques that the world’s best athletes use. I have been cited in Runners World, Best Health magazine (CN), SWEAT Magazine, and the Washington Examiner amongst many other publications. I have been a featured mental games coach in Runner’s World and for the internationally acclaimed trail running resource - trailrunningclub.com. I also regularly appear on sports and fitness talk shows such as LTKFitness, Runnersroundtable and for more than three years I have co-hosted a weekly video series with Coach Joe English for Running-Advice.com. I specialize in mental toughness training. My clients include tennis, synchronized swimming, golf, race-kart, soccer, motocross, volleyball, MMA, cycling (road, off-road, time-trialist), running, duathlon and triathlon, basketball, football and baseball athletes. I have coached world-class athletes and athletes internationally. I have a passion for working with youth athletes and helping them apply mental game skills and techniques to all areas of life. Most importantly, my aim is to have people enjoy sports and life to their fullest through peak performances.
This entry was posted in Excuses not to run, Motivation, Running, Sports Psychology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

