Two for One: Goal & Focus eBooks Now Available

Screw the Goals Give me the Donut is an eBook targeted at runners, triathletes, fitness seekers and the like. It is an ideal tool to use with your club or high school team! These principles are the same whether you are an athlete, a student, a parent or what I call the “corporate athlete.” You can apply everything thing presented to all areas of your life.

Did I mention that it’s entertaining at the same time? There is even a built in cynic to keep things real!

The concept of goal setting is not new. What is funny (weird funny not ha-ha funny) is the fact that very few people set goals in any formal way. Some experts have quoted as few as 3% of all people set goals (by the way there isn’t any hard research to support that number to my knowledge). You would think that athletes being so “motivated” to go out and make themselves uncomfortable would do it for a reason and certainly rank higher than that. Though I have not seen any data on this, my observation is that most runners talk about goals far more than actually go through a goal setting process to optimize opportunities for successful outcomes.

So let me clarify that merely saying you have a goal is not sufficient to qualify as goal setting. Most people make statements or have dreams; they don’t have goals. On the topic of goal setting, when all is said and done there is a lot more said than done.

For those of you who are turned off by the term “goal setting” then call them objectives or just “some things I want to accomplish.” Don’t let semantics get in the way. The fact that you aren’t doing them now or you do them poorly may be a primary reason for not achieving them. In which case, read on.

Christina the Cynic keeps me from getting too fluffy and sports “psychy” with this entire goal setting stuff. She asks all the questions we know you would want to ask. In the end maybe she (and you) will just reach for the donut. In the meantime the Mental Game Coach Professional (MGCP) will respond to her cynicism.

Christina the Cynic says: “Darn straight. I have my donut on a plate in front of me right now. So, let’s get to it before it gets stale.”

The MGCP says: “I hope you’ll share that donut.”

For those of you who like a little more data behind goal setting from goal setting research go to page 41 of this eBook. Everyone else keep reading and step away from the donut. There are tables and forms and plenty of examples of Master Goals and everyday “Mindsetters” to really make this whole thing work for you!

Read more below…

FREE
BONUS

Now with your order you get a free copy of the eBook Focus
for Fitness
(This will be sent via email after your
successful order.). This is the perfect companion book to Screw
the Goals Give me the Donut
. All for only
$16
!

Focus for Fitness sets you up for success STARTING WITH THE EVERYDAY ACTIONS YOU MUST TAKE AND BE FOCUSED ON, set your goals the way they should be, create environments and support systems to get you where you want to go. Learn specific focusing tips and tricks to “just get’r done!”

[More From “Screw the Goals…]
Failing at Goals – The Success-Only Venture Myth
Everyone loves success: athletes, coaches, parents, athletic directors, schools, fans. Everyone loves to win or be a winner. This brings me to my point. If we define ourselves by our victories alone; or conversely if we define ourselves by the times we’ve failed to accomplish what we intended; if we only measure ourselves by “successes” and “failures” then we are certain to completely fail. Someone sold most of us a bill of goods that include these themes: “there is only room at the top for one”; “winning is the only thing”; “second place is the first loser”; “all those runners in front of me are more talented”; “I have to accomplish every goal I set”; and “if we don’t achieve everything we set out to do – we’re a failure.”

Christina the Cynic says: “I don’t buy it. I set a marathon goal and did everything right. I kept my mileage appropriate, did some PT exercises, ate better, wrote down my goal, and sub-goal, made it public and I ended up with an injury that took me out of my marathon and kept me from actively running for months. How is it possible there is success there?”

The MGCP says: “Add up enough of these failures and focus on only those, you’ll find yourself in a very depressing cycle.”

Christina the Cynic says: “Yes, I’ve heard that before and I can see that I’m not looking at the bigger picture and the positive outcomes that may come from this.”

The MGCP says: “That is so true. That is why goal setting is not to be taken lightly. It is not an academic exercise. Either it will feed your enthusiasm for where you want to go or if done incorrectly it’ll set you up for despair. If you never want to fail, just don’t try. Eat the donut instead. You won’t miss any goal you don’t set. By not setting goals it assures you of not failing at a goal.”

Christina the Cynic says: “Wait; if I didn’t fail at a goal I didn’t set then I must be successful at not reaching, right? That’s twisted. I like it.”

Go ahead and get your copy now!

About Dean Hebert

I’m a mental game coach, author and speaker. I work with individual athletes, parents, coaches, and teams on sports performance enhancement. Beyond my academic post-graduate work in sports psychology - the psychology behind athlete performance – I am a certified Mental Games Coaching Professional (MGCP) and certified hypnotherapist. I’ve authored several books and hundreds of articles. “Coach, I didn’t run because…” (2008) is a seriously light-hearted look at making excuses not to workout and how to overcome them. “Focus for Fitness” (2009) and “Screw the Goals Give me the Donut” (2010) are two of my eBooks on mental game approaches for the everyday athlete. I wrote these because I believe that everyone can benefit from the powerful mental techniques that the world’s best athletes use. I have been cited in Runners World, Best Health magazine (CN), SWEAT Magazine, and the Washington Examiner amongst many other publications. I have been a featured mental games coach in Runner’s World and for the internationally acclaimed trail running resource - trailrunningclub.com. I also regularly appear on sports and fitness talk shows such as LTKFitness, Runnersroundtable and for more than three years I have co-hosted a weekly video series with Coach Joe English for Running-Advice.com. I specialize in mental toughness training. My clients include tennis, synchronized swimming, golf, race-kart, soccer, motocross, volleyball, MMA, cycling (road, off-road, time-trialist), running, duathlon and triathlon, basketball, football and baseball athletes. I have coached world-class athletes and athletes internationally. I have a passion for working with youth athletes and helping them apply mental game skills and techniques to all areas of life. Most importantly, my aim is to have people enjoy sports and life to their fullest through peak performances.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

