Publishing Update and “Coach, I didn’t run because…” – Rob

What readers perhaps never realize is that I write for myself as well as for others (perhaps like most writers?). I’ve been interviewed by Amby Burfoot from Runners World (May 2009 edition) regarding my book and work on excuses and excuse busting. This past week I was interviewed by Lisa Hannam from the Reader’s Digest Association in Canada (for future article targeting women and health). But more gratifying was to get an email with this comment from a reader of my “excuses” book. “I am about 3/4 of the way through, and have decided that this is the book that I have needed all my life.” Michelle. A writer only hopes that their words somehow, someway touch someone, move someone… and makes a difference.

Since the excuses book I’ve published a book targeted at parents and coaches of youth getting involved with track & field.
Currently I am working on two more books – both competing for my time. One is a compilation of “every day runner” stories. Some sad, some funny, some uplifting, some motivating; all true.

The second book is inspired by one of my favorite runners – and friend Christina. It will be a mental games approach to overcoming all those typical challenges we encounter as athletes or coaches. From the most elite to the thinking-about-taking-up-running future runner; if you have thoughts, ideas, input, mental blocks to overcome, faulty thinking to be solved, please drop me a line. They provide the fodder for reality based solutions I like to work on – not just the stuff you find in “the text book on sports psychology.” Help me keep it real, keep it relevant and keep it fun.

This is an excerpt from “Coach, I didn’t run because…” a book about excuses not to get your workout done and how to overcome them.

…I’ve always seen myself as just your average every day runner. I wanted to do something special after turning 40. But, I didn’t want to run just another marathon. No, it had to be an ultra-marathon: 50 miles. I thought about this goal for two years and started formal training a full year out. This goal was so daunting that the list of possible excuses along the journey to accomplishing it was endless…

…In order to “get it done,” I practiced pacing every day. I remained focused on paces and it gave my runs purpose. I ran my quality runs at the prescribed “fast” paces. Goal runs were kept to 8:45 per mile which by the end of training I could click off in my sleep. My running friends nicknamed me The Metronome because of my ability to pace consistently. My easy runs were kept easy even though I often felt like picking it up. I knew if I over-did my easy days, I would have a convenient excuse for not being able to complete the far more critical quality and goal paced workouts…

Some excuses by the number:
19. There wasn’t enough time to warm up.
20. I warmed up too much.
21. I haven’t trained enough.
22. I didn’t have enough sleep.
23. I had too much sleep.
24. I have not had enough weight training.
25. I had too much weight training.
26. I’m building up slowly for next year.
27. I don’t want to peak too soon.
28. My girlfriend/boyfriend was unfriendly.
29. My girlfriend/boyfriend was too friendly.
30. He cut me off.
31. I cut him off and thought I was disqualified.
32. I fell down.
…and there are so many more!

Want to read more about how Rob and other everyday runners overcome excuses and just get it done? Get your copy of “Coach, I didn’t run because…” It’s an entertaining, motivational and practical look at excuse making and how to become an Excuse Buster – just like Rob. Pick one up for your runner friend, a copy for everyone on your team or for that special someone you know setting New Year’s resolutions…. yet again.

About Dean Hebert

I’m a mental game coach, author and speaker. I work with individual athletes, parents, coaches, and teams on sports performance enhancement. Beyond my academic post-graduate work in sports psychology - the psychology behind athlete performance – I am a certified Mental Games Coaching Professional (MGCP) and certified hypnotherapist. I’ve authored several books and hundreds of articles. “Coach, I didn’t run because…” (2008) is a seriously light-hearted look at making excuses not to workout and how to overcome them. “Focus for Fitness” (2009) and “Screw the Goals Give me the Donut” (2010) are two of my eBooks on mental game approaches for the everyday athlete. I wrote these because I believe that everyone can benefit from the powerful mental techniques that the world’s best athletes use. I have been cited in Runners World, Best Health magazine (CN), SWEAT Magazine, and the Washington Examiner amongst many other publications. I have been a featured mental games coach in Runner’s World and for the internationally acclaimed trail running resource - trailrunningclub.com. I also regularly appear on sports and fitness talk shows such as LTKFitness, Runnersroundtable and for more than three years I have co-hosted a weekly video series with Coach Joe English for Running-Advice.com. I specialize in mental toughness training. My clients include tennis, synchronized swimming, golf, race-kart, soccer, motocross, volleyball, MMA, cycling (road, off-road, time-trialist), running, duathlon and triathlon, basketball, football and baseball athletes. I have coached world-class athletes and athletes internationally. I have a passion for working with youth athletes and helping them apply mental game skills and techniques to all areas of life. Most importantly, my aim is to have people enjoy sports and life to their fullest through peak performances.
This entry was posted in Excuses not to run, Motivation, Running, Sports Psychology, The Running Life - Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

