A Little Press – Appreciated

I think it is especially fitting that I write this article since today marks 41 years (1968) since Amby Burfoot’s Boston Marathon victory – Patriot’s Day.

So, ya, I’ll say it… “Amby, thank you very much for the nice interview, the ink on page 64 of the May 2009 RW edition and our follow-up email exchanges.”

Wow, OK, if you know me or my blog over the past couple years I have not been always kind to RW (Runners World). I mean… heck… their lawyers called me to make me change the name of my blog! Since that time though I have learned that Amby Burfoot, RW Editor at Large, actually reads my blog. And you know what else I found out? He’s a really nice guy and easy to talk with! He even answers his own email. If he ever comes out AZ way, I’d love to take him out for a beer. (There you go, the offer is on the table, Amby.) But I digress.

When he contacted me earlier this year wanting to chat about an upcoming article that he was researching to write; it certainly came as a surprise. Maybe it was an article on copyright infringement issue article? (I’m joking…. I’m joking…) Seriously, I was very flattered that he had contacted me and that he reads what I have to say in this blog.

You can read the entire article in the May 2009 edition that just came out last week. It’s actually well done and really does address fears, considerations and motivation of first time runners. He cites me in the first section on inspiration – “Help! I need Motivation!” on what else… overcoming excuses.

I even like how he plays off the format of my book “Coach, I didn’t run because…” with his nifty hints and tips “I can’t run because…” Whether intentional or not, I take it as a compliment and it shows he really did read the book!

So, go ahead, get out and buy a copy of RW if you don’t already subscribe. Another cool bonus article (OK, I have to think an article citing me is the best.) is one on the benefits of coffee. Woohoo for coffee drinkers!

Amby… thank you, well done. My offer stands.

Upward and onward!

About Dean Hebert

I’m a mental game coach, author and speaker. I work with individual athletes, parents, coaches, and teams on sports performance enhancement. Beyond my academic post-graduate work in sports psychology - the psychology behind athlete performance – I am a certified Mental Games Coaching Professional (MGCP) and certified hypnotherapist. I’ve authored several books and hundreds of articles. “Coach, I didn’t run because…” (2008) is a seriously light-hearted look at making excuses not to workout and how to overcome them. “Focus for Fitness” (2009) and “Screw the Goals Give me the Donut” (2010) are two of my eBooks on mental game approaches for the everyday athlete. I wrote these because I believe that everyone can benefit from the powerful mental techniques that the world’s best athletes use. I have been cited in Runners World, Best Health magazine (CN), SWEAT Magazine, and the Washington Examiner amongst many other publications. I have been a featured mental games coach in Runner’s World and for the internationally acclaimed trail running resource - trailrunningclub.com. I also regularly appear on sports and fitness talk shows such as LTKFitness, Runnersroundtable and for more than three years I have co-hosted a weekly video series with Coach Joe English for Running-Advice.com. I specialize in mental toughness training. My clients include tennis, synchronized swimming, golf, race-kart, soccer, motocross, volleyball, MMA, cycling (road, off-road, time-trialist), running, duathlon and triathlon, basketball, football and baseball athletes. I have coached world-class athletes and athletes internationally. I have a passion for working with youth athletes and helping them apply mental game skills and techniques to all areas of life. Most importantly, my aim is to have people enjoy sports and life to their fullest through peak performances.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Little Press – Appreciated

  1. Pat Monahan says:

    congrats on the interview. I always enjoy a, “hey, I read that blog.” moment.

  2. Justine says:

    I showed that article to my husband, I was delighted to see you there 🙂

  3. Jim Hebert says:

    must have been a slow news day at runners world

  4. Jimmy Holub says:

    Bwahaha! Jim, you’re such a brother I love it. Dean, congratulations in public! For me, your works are always useful and reliable, and with a personal quality. I really appreciate all the time that you have spent for me (and with me) and others over the years. Yes, upward and onward we go!

Leave a Reply

