Two New Running Books – Spring 2009

I am so excited to give you a heads-up on two new publications coming out late this spring.

I am very thankful to be co-authoring a book on how to get kids involved in track and field. The title is “Runner’s Take Your Mark: The Parents Guide to Youth Track and Field.” Lorraine Williams aka TrackMom and I are collaborating on this one of a kind book (literally – we’ve researched it).

Excerpt:
You’re reading this book most likely because you have a child and you, your son or your daughter is interested in the sport of track and field. Your school may or may not offer a program. You might be looking for something outside of school. You may be looking for a seasonal activity or for a yearlong one.

You’ve come to the right source. This book was written with you in mind. The authors have been where you are. Our goal is to share specifically how to get involved with the world of track and field as well as specific things to do and not to do.

We want you to be the best track parent possible!
Welcome to our world.

  • This is an introduction to the variety of events in track and field and the all-inclusive nature of the sport.
  • This is about how both parents and youth can become involved with the sport and enjoy the experience.
  • This is about the role of a parent in track and field.
  • This is about providing a supportive atmosphere for youth.
  • This is not a training manual on how to train for a specific event in track and field.
  • This is not a book of track and field records.
  • This is not a book on the rules for all the events in track and field.

Look forward to this book in the late spring – April 2009!

The second book is a compilation of compelling, funny, sad, motivational, ridiculous stories and vignettes on running and runners. I am paired up co-authoring this book with John Taylor. It started as his brainstorm – something that HE would want to read.

We have been very fortunate to have some first time writers along with established authors like Paul Maurer contributing to this book.

Our goal is to have it complete this spring also.

So, if you find a few gaps in my blog postings (unlike the gap between my ears), you’ll know why! Wait.. that sounds a lot like an excuse… hmmmm someone ought to write a book on excuses.

About Dean Hebert

I’m a mental game coach, author and speaker. I work with individual athletes, parents, coaches, and teams on sports performance enhancement. Beyond my academic post-graduate work in sports psychology - the psychology behind athlete performance – I am a certified Mental Games Coaching Professional (MGCP) and certified hypnotherapist. I’ve authored several books and hundreds of articles. “Coach, I didn’t run because…” (2008) is a seriously light-hearted look at making excuses not to workout and how to overcome them. “Focus for Fitness” (2009) and “Screw the Goals Give me the Donut” (2010) are two of my eBooks on mental game approaches for the everyday athlete. I wrote these because I believe that everyone can benefit from the powerful mental techniques that the world’s best athletes use. I have been cited in Runners World, Best Health magazine (CN), SWEAT Magazine, and the Washington Examiner amongst many other publications. I have been a featured mental games coach in Runner’s World and for the internationally acclaimed trail running resource - trailrunningclub.com. I also regularly appear on sports and fitness talk shows such as LTKFitness, Runnersroundtable and for more than three years I have co-hosted a weekly video series with Coach Joe English for Running-Advice.com. I specialize in mental toughness training. My clients include tennis, synchronized swimming, golf, race-kart, soccer, motocross, volleyball, MMA, cycling (road, off-road, time-trialist), running, duathlon and triathlon, basketball, football and baseball athletes. I have coached world-class athletes and athletes internationally. I have a passion for working with youth athletes and helping them apply mental game skills and techniques to all areas of life. Most importantly, my aim is to have people enjoy sports and life to their fullest through peak performances.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two New Running Books – Spring 2009

  1. Christina says:

    That is very cool that Paul Maurer is contributing. And to think all because you read his book and posted a book review. Its strange how the world works and things fall into place.

Leave a Reply

