Running Vocabulary

The technical side of running has much jargon. Parting with the usual approach to my usual posts this time I creatively elaborate on a few key terms. Beyond VO2max and anaerobic thresholds we have terms which reflect the pace of running. Everyone has heard of running, sprinting and jogging. The problem is of course that these terms are limited when you think of all the different paces out there. Like Eskimos who reportedly have twelve words for snow, we need more descriptive words for our running. In that vein, here is a starter list.

1. Perhaps you’ve slogged through a run. It was probably not a good one.

2. Jalking or wogging is a pace between jogging and walking.

3. Bounting or sprounding is something between a bounding stride and a sprinting stride.

4. Some people grunt as they run, we can say that they are grunning.

5. Some of us who have breathing problems wheeze as we run and therefore we actually are could be reezing or wheening or wheezning or even wheezuning (it’s like having a lisp and saying “reasoning”).

6. Someone who really runs fast, who simply flies as they sprint could be flinting or splying.

7. When we are just beginning and scuff our feet with each stride as we attempt to jog we might be scogging, scruffing or scrunning or even runnuffing.

8. Beginners also at times have that precursor to actual jogging when they don’t quite leave the ground with each stride yet, they have a running motion in their arms. Perhaps this is simply pre-running, pre-jogging, progging or prunning.

9. You know those times when you simply cruise along effortlessly? That of course is cruining.

10. Run-walk strategies for distance events should really be called ralking.

11. My brother dragged is foot through Ragnar Relay. He wasn’t really running. I think he was drunning or dragunning.

So, how many other new words help us describe a “run”?

About Dean Hebert

I’m a mental game coach, author and speaker. I work with individual athletes, parents, coaches, and teams on sports performance enhancement. Beyond my academic post-graduate work in sports psychology - the psychology behind athlete performance – I am a certified Mental Games Coaching Professional (MGCP) and certified hypnotherapist. I’ve authored several books and hundreds of articles. “Coach, I didn’t run because…” (2008) is a seriously light-hearted look at making excuses not to workout and how to overcome them. “Focus for Fitness” (2009) and “Screw the Goals Give me the Donut” (2010) are two of my eBooks on mental game approaches for the everyday athlete. I wrote these because I believe that everyone can benefit from the powerful mental techniques that the world’s best athletes use. I have been cited in Runners World, Best Health magazine (CN), SWEAT Magazine, and the Washington Examiner amongst many other publications. I have been a featured mental games coach in Runner’s World and for the internationally acclaimed trail running resource - trailrunningclub.com. I also regularly appear on sports and fitness talk shows such as LTKFitness, Runnersroundtable and for more than three years I have co-hosted a weekly video series with Coach Joe English for Running-Advice.com. I specialize in mental toughness training. My clients include tennis, synchronized swimming, golf, race-kart, soccer, motocross, volleyball, MMA, cycling (road, off-road, time-trialist), running, duathlon and triathlon, basketball, football and baseball athletes. I have coached world-class athletes and athletes internationally. I have a passion for working with youth athletes and helping them apply mental game skills and techniques to all areas of life. Most importantly, my aim is to have people enjoy sports and life to their fullest through peak performances.
This entry was posted in Running, Running Humor and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Running Vocabulary

  1. jim says:

    My run consisted of running with one stiff leg, so I guess it could be called peglegging…or perhaps pirating?

  2. Jimmy Holub says:

    Hmmm, here’s a logic game for us…

    If we have fun while running, it provides a couple nice terms:

    “funning” and…
    “running”!

    Interesting to think that we can still be “running” while we are simultaneously running and having fun!

    The flip side… Maybe the connotation felt with the term “funning” could be used by coaches in conjunction with athletes who exhibit any superfluity of naughtiness which hinders training or racing. ;-D

  3. Jimmy.. good contribution!!!!

Leave a Reply

