Times to Turn Heads

On 8/2-5, 2007 the USATF Masters Outdoor Track Championships are being held in Orono ME. So, I thought I’d share some things about older running.

I’m not sure how many out there follow world age group running. Most of us know our competition just over in the next town and those who show up for the local 5K series. Well, I wanted to bring some attention to age group records… and propose that we aren’t getting slower as fast as you think!

The age 41 mile world record (WR) is by Eamon Coughlin – 3:58.13 (indoors).

The age 40 5000 meter WR is 13:43.15 by Mohammed Ezzher from France. And age 50 is 14:53.2 by Michael Hager of Great Britain.

The women’s 55-59 WR is 2:31.73. That same woman, Kathy Martin, ran American records (AR) for the mile, 5:27.89 and 3000, 10:35.76.

How about running a 42.10 for 200 meters…in the 90-94 age group! That’s what Bob Matteson did.

Former collegiate, Olympic and international stars have continued to run and demonstrating that you do not have to slow down so fast! Alisa Harvey at 40 years old ran 2:08.05 for 800 meters and an AR.

John Hinton at 45 run a 3:56.39 WR 1500. Nolan Shaheed at 55 ran a 4:42.7 mile for the AR. And it’s not just the men. Mary Louise Michelsohn ran a 6:16.28 AR in the mile at 65 years young. Better yet, how about he first 70 year old woman to break the 7:00 mile! That’s what Jeanne Daprano did in running a WR 6:47.75 while breaking the former record of 7:15!

It’s not just track events either. The marathon age 40 record is 2:08:46 by Andres Espinosa, MEX and Kjell-Erik Stahl has the 45 standard at  2:15:51; and 50? …2:19:29 by Titus Mambolo from South Africa.

Check here for official lists if you are interested: http://world-masters-athletics.org/records_output/rec_list_outdoor_m.php

About Dean Hebert

I’m a mental game coach, author and speaker. I work with individual athletes, parents, coaches, and teams on sports performance enhancement. Beyond my academic post-graduate work in sports psychology - the psychology behind athlete performance – I am a certified Mental Games Coaching Professional (MGCP) and certified hypnotherapist. I’ve authored several books and hundreds of articles. “Coach, I didn’t run because…” (2008) is a seriously light-hearted look at making excuses not to workout and how to overcome them. “Focus for Fitness” (2009) and “Screw the Goals Give me the Donut” (2010) are two of my eBooks on mental game approaches for the everyday athlete. I wrote these because I believe that everyone can benefit from the powerful mental techniques that the world’s best athletes use. I have been cited in Runners World, Best Health magazine (CN), SWEAT Magazine, and the Washington Examiner amongst many other publications. I have been a featured mental games coach in Runner’s World and for the internationally acclaimed trail running resource - trailrunningclub.com. I also regularly appear on sports and fitness talk shows such as LTKFitness, Runnersroundtable and for more than three years I have co-hosted a weekly video series with Coach Joe English for Running-Advice.com. I specialize in mental toughness training. My clients include tennis, synchronized swimming, golf, race-kart, soccer, motocross, volleyball, MMA, cycling (road, off-road, time-trialist), running, duathlon and triathlon, basketball, football and baseball athletes. I have coached world-class athletes and athletes internationally. I have a passion for working with youth athletes and helping them apply mental game skills and techniques to all areas of life. Most importantly, my aim is to have people enjoy sports and life to their fullest through peak performances.
This entry was posted in Motivation, Running, The Running Life - Philosophy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

