More Miles does Not Mean Better Training

Ok,

Let’s start with some miles are good. If you’re going to be a runner the law of specificity dictates that you need to run to be a runner. Cycling, swimming, aerobics, weightlifting, playing tiddlywinks and rowing are all good but they do not exercise your neuromuscular system as a runner.

There are some thresholds in running that serve to clarify as well as confuse the issue. You make excellent gains in VO2max going from zero to about 25 miles per week and then again from 25 to 50 miles per week (about 16% gain each time). There is a dramatic drop off going from 50 to 70 miles per week (about 3% gain) and more than 70 miles per week (zero improvement). Here’s the rub. VO2max is not a good indicator of running performance. Bummer for mileage maniacs.

Running more than 20 miles per week yields a sharp rise in the incidence of injuries. The rate of injuries continues to rise from there as miles increase. Double bummer for mileage freaks.

These are the facts based on the last 40 or so years of research.

So, if you can run fewer miles and get the same or better race results and decrease opportunities for injuries, wouldn’t you? Unfortunately, so many runners pride themselves in the miles they run (I know, I’m at 51,300 and counting and I’ve done the 100 mile weeks before) it clouds their minds. It is one thing to run because you love it or because you use it for stress management. It is another to dupe oneself into thinking you are doing yourself more good by running more!

About Dean Hebert

I’m a mental game coach, author and speaker. I work with individual athletes, parents, coaches, and teams on sports performance enhancement. Beyond my academic post-graduate work in sports psychology - the psychology behind athlete performance – I am a certified Mental Games Coaching Professional (MGCP) and certified hypnotherapist. I’ve authored several books and hundreds of articles. “Coach, I didn’t run because…” (2008) is a seriously light-hearted look at making excuses not to workout and how to overcome them. “Focus for Fitness” (2009) and “Screw the Goals Give me the Donut” (2010) are two of my eBooks on mental game approaches for the everyday athlete. I wrote these because I believe that everyone can benefit from the powerful mental techniques that the world’s best athletes use. I have been cited in Runners World, Best Health magazine (CN), SWEAT Magazine, and the Washington Examiner amongst many other publications. I have been a featured mental games coach in Runner’s World and for the internationally acclaimed trail running resource - trailrunningclub.com. I also regularly appear on sports and fitness talk shows such as LTKFitness, Runnersroundtable and for more than three years I have co-hosted a weekly video series with Coach Joe English for Running-Advice.com. I specialize in mental toughness training. My clients include tennis, synchronized swimming, golf, race-kart, soccer, motocross, volleyball, MMA, cycling (road, off-road, time-trialist), running, duathlon and triathlon, basketball, football and baseball athletes. I have coached world-class athletes and athletes internationally. I have a passion for working with youth athletes and helping them apply mental game skills and techniques to all areas of life. Most importantly, my aim is to have people enjoy sports and life to their fullest through peak performances.
This entry was posted in Running, Training Effectiveness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

