Welcome!

1974 Senior Year 

Yes, that picture is from the spring 1974 my senior year at Leicester High School. Yes, that is our entire track team.

Over time, you will get to know me through this blog. My posts will be science and research based when it comes to training; unless I tell you otherwise. I admit what I don’t know, then I go find an answer. So, please ask what is on your mind. It might be humorous. It won’t always be pretty. Bodily functions are not off limits. I’ll try to protect the guilty and innocent in my various stories, scenarios and examples but you will know who you are. My brother is always open season (That’s Jim Hebert).

So, help me help you keep running, racing better than ever while keeping life in perspective. Enjoy the journey!

About Dean Hebert

I’m a mental game coach, author and speaker. I work with individual athletes, parents, coaches, and teams on sports performance enhancement. Beyond my academic post-graduate work in sports psychology - the psychology behind athlete performance – I am a certified Mental Games Coaching Professional (MGCP) and certified hypnotherapist. I’ve authored several books and hundreds of articles. “Coach, I didn’t run because…” (2008) is a seriously light-hearted look at making excuses not to workout and how to overcome them. “Focus for Fitness” (2009) and “Screw the Goals Give me the Donut” (2010) are two of my eBooks on mental game approaches for the everyday athlete. I wrote these because I believe that everyone can benefit from the powerful mental techniques that the world’s best athletes use. I have been cited in Runners World, Best Health magazine (CN), SWEAT Magazine, and the Washington Examiner amongst many other publications. I have been a featured mental games coach in Runner’s World and for the internationally acclaimed trail running resource - trailrunningclub.com. I also regularly appear on sports and fitness talk shows such as LTKFitness, Runnersroundtable and for more than three years I have co-hosted a weekly video series with Coach Joe English for Running-Advice.com. I specialize in mental toughness training. My clients include tennis, synchronized swimming, golf, race-kart, soccer, motocross, volleyball, MMA, cycling (road, off-road, time-trialist), running, duathlon and triathlon, basketball, football and baseball athletes. I have coached world-class athletes and athletes internationally. I have a passion for working with youth athletes and helping them apply mental game skills and techniques to all areas of life. Most importantly, my aim is to have people enjoy sports and life to their fullest through peak performances.
This entry was posted in Running, Running Humor and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome!

  1. Jimmy Holub says:

    Hi Dean!

    I have read many of your blogs and I must say that this is an extraordinarily concise compilation of critical information for the athlete, especially runners. Every time I log on to read more, I get tense and on the edge of my seat. I never get this excited when reading “thriller” literature of any kind, perhaps because the knowledge contained herein can directly improve the athletic performances of so many people, not just mine, and likely open doors to places they never thought possible.

    At 31 years old and running with you in the RxRunning club, I am dreaming once again of an injury-free time period so that I can achieve my own “previously unthinkable”: busting my college PRs in the 1500m (4:40) and mile (5:00).

    Dean, most notably, you’re really making me itch to get back into coaching young people at the high school level. Thank you for the itch? It is fascinating that, through this “absurd pastime”, we humans dream of an opportunity to participate in and contribute to community, “Without Limits“. …in a word, “heaven”. We also appreciate the efforts which you have shared with us in the RxRunning club team. Thank you!

    ~jimmy holub

  2. Herb Sherman says:

    Dean & Little Jim Hebert,

    What a riot! Hey… one of you better contact me.. I had to live with both of you..{:{D. Hope all is well,

    Herb Sherman.

Leave a Reply

